top of page

Develop Your Creative Practice - What to consider Before You Start Writing your DYCP

Hey there, Happy New Year 2024 ! I don’t know about you, but it sneaked up on me.

Despite the fact I saw it coming…Hope you has a restful one! This is me just smiling ahead for 2024 on top of a frozen lake.


Now. Back to reality and back to work we go ! We can do it!


To kickstart the new year 2024 , I wanted to share some DYCP related content with you.

For those who do not know What Is DYCP ? It is UK government funded grant that you can apply for to take time to develop your own creative practice.


“This is our fund open to independent creative and cultural practitioners. It supports you to take time to focus on your creative or cultural development and take you to the next stage of your practice. “ -Arts Council England-


I wrote my application in three days in April 2023. I do not recommend to do so !!!

That was 2 nightless nights trying to go faster than time itself , the budget numbers started to bounce up and down in my eyes also haha. I had huge doubt I had made any sense in the end. However, I have put together a very meticulous plan, and this I believe helped me. I did a lot of reading before I had gotten even close to a coherent plan. There were too many things I would have wanted to develop within my Movement  and Dance practice. So I took time to read others inspirational DYCP journeys, and learned how narrowing down the start and having a core plan is good. However, this plan can sift and change and your learning will lead you to places you didn’t expect. Life takes over and universes leads to you the paths you could not have written for yourself. I guess I am saying, Don't worry about it too much.


  • Remember , a well made plan, might not necessarily be the whole key. However, it allows your reader to visualise the plan, that they can see that within the steps, journey & plan you have put together, shows the progress you are to aiming to have.

  • It is ok NOT to have all the answers. After all , You haven't done the steps yet.

  • Reach out to the people you know, who might be able to help or guide you to someone else. Ive had many chats on Zoom/face to face with Executives / Directors to - Producers to get a bit of help in practicalities on budget and planning. Yes people a re busy, but there is never harm in asking, and more often than not, people are happy to help.




MY ACTION 1


I started with these questions , scribbling in my notebook :


  • WHY NOW ? Why do I feel like I need this in my career now ?

  • WHAT DO I WANT TO BE DOING IN 1-5 YEARS TIME ?

  • WHO/WHERE DO I WANT TO WORK/LEARN from ?

  • HOW DO I GET THERE ?

  • WHAT/WHO DO I NEED ? WHAT WOULD HELP ME ;

  • DEVELOP in....

  • GROW in confidence and....

  • MOVE FORWARD WITH MY CAREER into....?

  • DREAM AS BIG OR PRACTICAL AS YOU WANT, BUT BE HONEST AND TRUTHFUL TO WHAT YOU WANT.


  • WHO DO I ALREADY KNOW ? - WHAT KIND OF SUPPORT DO I NEED TO ACHIEVE THIS ? WHO CAN SUPPORT ME DURING THIS ? - Reach out to existing network and create new ones, mentors. ( Will talk about mentors in another post this year)


  • WROTE A LIST OF ALL THE THINGS I WANTED TO DEVELOP IN AND MY BIGGEST GOALS.


TASK: I recommend answering all these, and more might come. Read them and you might find some really clear thoughts there and see what would be the next step.


DONT:


  1. I PROCRASTINATED FOR MONTHS (and more) ON THIS. AND I ONLY STARTED PANIC WRITING 3 DAYS PRIOR DEADLINE. I do not recommended it. It is not a method haha! :)


DO!

THERE IS ALSO QUIZ YOU CAN TAKE ON ARTS COUNCIL WEBSITE, TO SEE IF YOU ARE READY TO APPLY.



MY ACTION 2

PREP/ RESEARCH




Know what kind of DYCP projects are funded.


Task:

Research successful applications / Ask people who have made a successful one, to share theirs with you , or some elements of it. ( no harm in asking ).

NOTE: SUBSCRIBE if you would like to receive a SPECIAL sneak peek material from my own successful application. Subscribe and I will drop it in your email in the next 24h.

Free of Charge of course !


Here are just a few links to individual artists, who talk about their DYCP experience. There are so many interesting creatives out there, so do spend a bit of time to read these. Everyone has their own approach, and development ideas. I found it very useful to understand what kind projects are funded and how people talk about their process.


Some links here:






GO HERE TO READ CASE STUDIES AT ARTS COUNCIL ENGLAND WEBSITE:


Before I knew what I wanted to do, I read every single information on the arts council l website but also found some of these outside ACE website, interesting and useful to read when I was thinking about what kind of pitch I want to make for my own Development activities.



Arts council site:


THERE IS A LOT TO READ, BUT IF YOU START BROWSING HERE AND THERE SLOWLY, It will not feel too bad…I FOUND IT BENEFICIAL, AND USEFUL.


It can be difficult to start and keep momentum going but, I believe in you! Pick up the pen, ipad, laptop or which ever way you prefer and write down your first draft of ideas. Making a start is the most difficult part, rest will be...easier.






MORE ON DYCP CONTENT WRITING AND SHARING MY APPROACHES NEXT TIME!


SUBSCRIBE IF YOU WANT TO BE THE FIRST TO HEAR ABOUT THEM.

IT WILL BE A LITTLE EMAIL NEWSLETTER NOTIFYING YOU A NEW BLOG IS OUT.


DO SUBSCRIBE , if you would also like to receive a FREE sneak peek material from my own successful application. Subscribe and I will drop it in your email in the next 24h. Free of Charge of course !


Thank You for reading !

Kindly, Krista x

35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page